Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


About the SWC

Home > breadcrumbs: The Southwest Center > breadcrumbs: About the SWC >


Ajax Loading Image


About Southwest Center for Educational Excellence


The Southwest Center was founded in 1996 with the plan to provide networking opportunities, share strategies for improving education and avoid unnecessary duplication of services for the SW Missouri School Districts.

The SWC's Charter Member Districts were:

  • Avilla R-XIII
  • Carl Junction R-I
  • Carthage R-IX
  • College Heights Christian Schools
  • Diamond R-IV
  • East Newton R-VI
  • Golden City R-III
  • Jasper R-V
  • Lamar R-I
  • Liberal R-II
  • McDonald County R-I
  • Neosho R-5
  • Seneca R-VII
  • Webb City R-VII
  • Westview C-6

Currently the SWC has grown to serve 42 member school districts, three colleges and universities, over 55,000 students and 7,000 employees.  The SW Center works to provide member districts with resources, a support system, collaborative opportunities and professional learning to assist schools in meeting the needs of students. For additional information on programs available, please contact the SWC Team at (417) 673-7078.



Back To Top